Eindhoven SportAwards 2016 awarded

Eindhoven SportAwards 2016 awarded.

Sharon van Rouwendaal and Ferry Weertman were named Sportswoman and -man of 2016. At the Eindhovense SportAwards 2106, held earlier this month, Oranje-Zwart were declared the best Sport Team.

Open water swimmer, Sharon van Rouwendaal, was not at the present to receive the award, as she was on a training camp. Her parents received the award in her stead. Van Rouwendaal said, in a video message, how honoured she was to receive this award and how she regrets not being able to attend the ceremony. The swimmer won gold at the Rio Olympics in the ten kilometer open water event.

Ferry Weertman was chosen as Sportsman of the Year. This open water swimmer was also at a training camp, but he responded via telephone to the award. Weertman, just like Van Rowendaal, won gold at the Rio Olympics for the ten kilometer open water event.

Oranje-Zwart, now known as Oranje-Rood, were awarded best Sports Team of the year. The Eindhoveners managed to win their third consecutive hockey title. This means they were placed first in the Euro Hockey League.

S.V Unitas was chosed as Eindhoven’s best sport association. Sekou Sidibe from PSV was awrded Sport alent of the year. Kenny van Weeghel received the Disabled Sports award. this was thanks to his gold medal for the 400 m wheelchair race at the Paralympics.

This is the second time SportAward Eindhoven have been awarded. Besides votes from the public, the jury’s vote counts for 50 percent.

Your advertisement here.
Previous articleThere might be giraffes and antelopes in the Best Zoo: ‘They seem like nice animals’
Next articleMan and child from Helmond found

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here